Are We Seeing?

Who ever said life is boring has not tried to follow Jesus.. I know, I know, I’ve said it at times myself, but – as my husband Lindell has said, life journey is more like spaghetti than a straight line. Following God is sometimes like walking around with a blindfold on. You never know if your headed for a cliff, rough terrain, a river to cross, or a smooth path.
We have been on quite a journey these last 10 months, and even though it has been tough, frustrating, and even depressing at times, I know God has had us in His hand the whole time. We can’t always see it at the time, and may never really understand everything while here on earth, but God never fails us.

We are headed in a direction, and believing God is leading.. It’s a risk, a challenge and a little scary, but Romans 8:31 says “If God be for us, who can be against us?” We are going to plant a church! Our dream is to plant a church unlike any that we have ever pastored. We want to reach the unreachable, the ones Brandon Heath sings about.
“Give me your eyes, for just one second, give me your eyes so I can see, everything that I keep missing, give me your love for humanity, give me your arms for the brokenhearted, the ones that are far beyond my reach, give me your heart for the ones forgotten, give me your eyes so I can see.”
The other day as I was thinking about our vision to build a church, God let me know that I had worked in the entertainment industry as much for me as for others. I knew early on that what I had started as a lark was my purpose for that time. But I thought I was there just to be a light, build relationships and pray for people. But God wanted me to SEE people, not just as what they where; goth, homosexual, agnostic, atheist etc. I know I’ve talked a little about this before, but it just keeps persisting, nagging me. We have to begin to look past the surface into the heart of people. So many are where they are because of past hurts, and some of those hurts are from the church. We have to reach them, they are God’s children and He loves them.
About laurabowman

I am above all a Christ Follower, a stumbler, Mother to 4 sons and now 4 daughters, Mema, Patriot, Book Reader, Dreamer
This entry was posted in Following God, Seeing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Are We Seeing?

  1. B says:

    That works, whatever you did with tech support, as we can now leave you comments! Thanks, and I’ll let Brenda @ It’s All Good know you’re “open for business”. lol
    So glad you and Lindell are going to start a church. I know God will bless you as long as you keep Him front and center, which you always do. We’ll be praying for you. Where is it going to be? Are you staying in Bakersfield? Hope so, as that is close enough to “run up the hill” sometime to see you guys.
    Have a blessed weekend.

  2. Betty says:

    I’m glad you got your blog fixed so we can leave your comments. I have visited a couple of times before now and tried to leave you a comment to no avail.

    Have a good weekend.

Leave a Reply

