JOURNEY’S END & NEW BEGINNINGS

HAPPIER DAYS

I know some of you have read my earlier post about our journey these last few years and I haven’t written a personal post since Lindell, my husband of almost 41 years, passed.

In the words of our son Myles I won’t say that he lost his battle with cancer, because i don’t believe that is what happened. I believe that Jesus finally convinced him that it was time to come home, it was time for him to reap the rewards that he had so justly earned.” 

Lindell went home June 22nd and we had his celebration on the 29th. Our four sons and a few friends spoke. He was interred in the National Cemetery with military honors. Our grandsons wanted the gun salute and were given the empty shells. Two of our sons are in the military so they also wore their uniforms.

Lindell was known for his smile and for being a friends friend, his heart was building young men and leaders. As one of our sons also commented, the military was only something he did for awhile, who he was was a pastor, mentor, encourager and that was reflected in the comments that were made.

It is bittersweet as he was so tired, ready to go and really did not look like himself so now we are actually remembering and grieving for the man he was before the disease.

I now have to start a new path, one I’m not familiar with, as a widow. I’m not sure how to do this, I spent the majority of my life as a pastor’s wife. I will have to work, and that’s daunting  these days and at my age.

However, God has never failed me and I know he wont now. I’m taking some time visiting family, regrouping and just waiting for God to show what He wants me to do. I’m leaving all options open, letting Him show me the door to walk through.

About laurabowman

I am above all a Christ Follower, a stumbler, Mother to 4 sons and now 4 daughters, Mema, Patriot, Book Reader, Dreamer
Gallery | This entry was posted in Journey, Legacy, LIFE, Love. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

