GRIEF or HOPE in NORTH of HOPE

northNORTH OF HOPE by Shannon Huffman Polson was a story of a young woman’s journey through grief. I understand everyone grieves in their own way, however, I’m not sure I comprehend the grief she describes. I have lost both parents and I recently lost my husband however I didn’t experience what she depict.

Although I can empathize with her heartache I thought the book maudlin and rabbit chasing. Each chapter bounced back and forth between the trip and her take on grief and the Requiem.

I wish she’d narrated the journey from the beginning and reflected on the emotions along the way and not spring boarded back each chapter. It became more disjointed to me and I found it very hard to finish.

I did find the information about the wildlife and arctic interesting. There is so much about that are that we don’t know or understand. We mainly think of the cold, ice, Eskimos etc.

She did evidently work her way through the anguish but even from her own account she seemed somewhat narcissistic and chose to distance herself from some of her family then to work through those issues.

I received this  book free for an honest review from http://handlebarpublishing.com/.

About laurabowman

I am above all a Christ Follower, a stumbler, Mother to 4 sons and now 4 daughters, Mema, Patriot, Book Reader, Dreamer
Gallery | This entry was posted in Book Reviews. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

